Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you read my previous skin care post “Operation Healthy Clear Skin” then you know that I am looking for a way to clear my skin, even my skin tone, and minimize my pores.  I have very oily skin, and large pores, and because of that I am acne prone.  I don’t believe I have severe acne, just a consequence of oily skin and the wrong products and possibly food allergies.  I was following my previous skin care regimen for a while but it didn’t seem like it was helping me.  It wasn’t harming me but my face just seemed stagnant.  Plus it was a lot of products.  I am on a path of a greener healthier more natural lifestyle, so I want to eliminate a lot of the chemical filled products.  I am hoping by going more natural with my products I will help my skin.  Hopefully it will help reboot my face so my skin won’t think it needs to produce more oil to over compensate.  I’m also eliminating Salicylic Acid and Benzoyl Peroxide. So that my skin does not relay on it.  Also, I am decreasing the amount of dairy, hopefully eliminating it all together.  I learned that some cystic acne can be related to dairy allergy, and I am Lactose intolerant so maybe It can be causing some of my acne.

So this will be the official beginning of my skin care journey.  I’ve been using my new products for  a little less than a week.  There has definitely been a change.  After starting the African Black Soap (ABS) I have gotten compliments on my skin tone.  Now, as I was warned, it has made the acne worse.  During my research of the soap, it was explained that the soap will bring the impurities up to the surface.  Well, it definitely did that.  Before using this product I had a few “bumps” that just weren’t doing anything.  They just appeared and stayed. after the ABS, I mean a day after the ABS, those bumps “came to a head.”  They started turning into white heads and are now on their way to healing and off my face.  Hopefully this is a good sign and not a bad one.  Here is where I am now and hopefully it gets better form here.

Before:  2-13-2013

2-13-2013 (1) 2-13-2013 (2) 2-13-2013 (3) 2-13-2013 (4) 2-13-2013 (5) 2-13-2013 (6) 2-13-2013 (7) 2-13-2013 (9) 2-13-2013 (10)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Products:

  • Cleanser – Raw African Black Soap
  • Toner – Simple Soothing Facial Toner
  • Moisturizer – Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture for Combination Skin
  • Scrub – OCM-Castor oil, Grape Seed Oil, Tea tree essential oil, sugar
  • Mask – Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay
  • 91% Isopropyl Alcohol

Regimen:

Daily (morning and evening)- Cleanse daily with ABS, apply Toner and moisturize

3 times a week ( Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday) in the evening, I first exfoliate with my oils and sugar, then cleanse with ABS, apply toner and moisturizer

Twice a week (Tuesday, Saturday) in the morning I cleanse, apply clay mask, and then moisturize.

Spot treat acne with 91% Isopropyl Alcohol with a Q-tip